Dataset List


Data Details

Post Stamps Collection on Antarctic Treaty

LIU Chuang1
1Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research,Chinese Academy of Sciences


Published:Dec. 2015

Visitors:7990       Data Files Downloaded:98      
Data Downloaded:10311.33 MB      Citations:

Key Words:

the Antarctic,TreatyInternational Geophysical Year (IGY),stamps


The Antarctic Treaty is the one of the greatest heritages of the International Geophysical Year (IGY), it is the most important treaty for all the countries to peaceful use the Antarctic. The Antarctic Treaty was signed on 12 countries in December 1, 1959 in Washington D. C. , they are: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South African, Russia, UK and USA. More countries approved the treaty and join the activities to develop the research program in Antarctic after the treaty effective on June 23, 1961. More than 20 countries issued the post stamps, post cards, cover letters, first day covers to remark the important event. The countries which had been issued the post stamps include: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South African, Russia, UK, USA, Uruguay, Germany, Mozambique, the Czech Republic, Romania, Poland, China, Korea, and India, Total 293 stamps were collected and archived in the LIN Chao Geomusem, which is jointly program by the International Geographical Union (IGU), Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) and Geographical Society of China (GSC). All of these stamps are from 7 individual donations; they are recorded in the Contributors Hall of the Digital Lin Chao Geomuseum.

Foundation Item:

National Natural Science Foundation of China (41371117)

Data Citation:

LIU Chuang. Post Stamps Collection on Antarctic Treaty[J/DB/OL]. Digital Journal of Global Change Data Repository, 2015. DOI: 10.3974/geodb.2015.02.14.V1.

Data Product:

ID Data Name Data Size Operation
1 AntTreatyStamps.rar 107742.90KB